Tags

,

Another great recipe idea! This time courtesy of Dinner: A Love Story

http://bit.ly/1odxato

Shout out to my bro’s fiance. I pretty much outsourced finding healthy recipes to her. She loves Pintrest. Bitches love Pintrest.

Parm meatballs

What you need:

  • 1 1/4 pounds ground chicken
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 tablespoons chopped onion
  • 1 tablespoon chopped parsley
  • 1/2 cup Pecorino (or Parm)
  • Salt(if you use it)
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1 Garlic Clove, Minced
  • 1 tsp Fennel Seeds
  • 1 Egg, Whisked
  • Zest of 1/2 Lemon
  • Olive Oil
  • 14-oz Pizza Sauce
  • 4 oz mozzarella

Notes:

Looked at this recipe and found it to be fairly easy, so I modified it. I added/substituted the following

  • Used 3 1/2 pounds ground Turkey instead of chicken
  • Forgot parsley….my bad
  • I used 1/2 onion instead of just 2 tbsp
  • I also added turmeric cause I use that shit in a lot of my cooking to reduce inflammation.
  • I also added 3 servings of Egg Whites. All bout dat protein.

For the sauce I used Wegman’s Chunky Marinara Pasta Sauce(Organic). I also had Trader Joe’s shredded Mozzarella instead of sliced cheese. Worked out just fine.

I will always look for ways to boost the protein of the foods I cook. Also, I never use added salt to my cooking. I honestly just rather not, your decision.

What to Do:

  1. Preheat oven 400°F
  2. In a large bowl, mix Chicken(turkey), Breadcrumbs, Onion, Parsley, Parm, Salt(if used), Pepper, Garlic, Fennel Seeds, Egg, Lemon Zest, and Olive oil
  3. Shape into lacrosse ball sized balls
  4. Place on a baking sheet(line it with foil first).
  5. In a small bowl mix spoonful of sauce with olive oil.
  6. Brush some of the sauce on each meatball.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes
  8. Remove form oven.
  9. Spoon sauce on top of each meatball and cover with some cheese.
  10. Bake again for another 3-7 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and golden.
  11. Heat sauce in saucepan.
  12. Take out of oven and enjoy!

Again, another STUPID EASY recipe. So great and it made me 4 meals of 3 meatballs each. I bought some Spinach Fettuccine from Wegman’s to add to the sauce but it was not necessary. Love the flavor the lemon zest added. I ended up with some HUGE delicious balls.

BONUS:

AWWW SHIT.

I have been using MyFitnessPal to keep track of my Macros. It is working great. According to my recipe(with turkey and egg whites) these are the number PER MEATBALL.

Total Calories – 275

Carbs – 13g

Sugar – 4g

Fiber – .6g

Fat – 11g

Sat Fat – 2g

PROTEIN – 31g

Good shit in my book.

Questions, comments, concerns? Well I don’t care about that cause this is my blog. But I will accept recipe ideas. Email me:

cmm1003@gmail.com

