Tags

I am definitely very attached to this recipe. Firstly, I have a huge sweet tooth. This is a healthy way to satisfy that craving. Secondly, and most importantly I came up with it on my own. Now I will not take full credit for it, I am sure this amazing combination of squash and sweet potato has been thought up by someone else before. However, I did not find a recipe for so I will take credit. On top of being absolutely delicious this recipe fulfills all my criteria:

  • Cheap(I am a poor rican and am on a budget)
  • Easy(I have remedial culinary skills)
  • Quick
  • I need to make multiple meals at once(work smarter not harder)
  • I can mix it with peanut butter

I do not really measure my stuff out so the ingredients are mostly eyeballed. Here goes:

Image

What You Need:

  • 1-2 Acorn Squash
  • 1 Butternut Squash
  • 3-4 Medium Sized Sweet Potatoes
  • 1-2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1-2 Tbsp Cinnamon
  • 1-2 tsp Nut Meg
  • Cooking Spray

What to Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 375ºF.
  2. Clean the squash and sweet potato then let soak so they are easy to cut.
  3. Peel the squash.
  4. Cube both types of squash and the sweet potatoes.
  5. In a large bowl, mix squash and sweet potato.
  6. Add Cinnamon, Oil, and Nutmeg into the bowl then mix.
  7. Cover large baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  8. Spray sheet with cooking spray.
  9. Spread mixture evenly on sheet.
  10. Place in oven and let bake for 35-45 minutes or until soft.

Notes:

I eyeballed the portions for the cinnamon, oil, and nutmeg. You can really put as much as you want for either ingredient. For the cooking spray I used Trader Joe’s Coconut Cooking Spray. If you would like, you can peel the sweet potatoes but it is not necessary. Cutting the squash can be tricky, maybe one day I will write a tutorial on how to do it but, for the time being use these:

http://bit.ly/Q4pYkK

http://martha.ms/1mt5MrW

That last link is an awesome resource for prepping other vegetables as well.

You should end up with a decent portion of this medley. I tend to mix this medley with peanut butter, but you can enjoy alone. I have been making this for some time now and it does make a great side to a dish the Stuffed Acorn Squash I previously posted:

http://bit.ly/SqnUFI

I love mixing my food. When I made the Stuffed Acorn Squash, I had more stuffing that I needed. I mixed that stuffing with this medley and was pleasantly surprised.

I hope you all enjoy this! Let me know if you made it and if you liked it!

-Christian

